Who Is UFC Lightweight Champion – Record & Result

UFC Lightweight Championship is the chief title for the lightweight division which goes from 145 to 155 pounds or 65.8 to 70.3 kg. We will cover the total rundown of UFC Lightweight Champions, current Lightweight Champions, and title history in this article.

Before 4 May 2001, the Lightweight division was known as the Bantamweight division. From May 2001, UFC realigned the division classes with the standards from New Jersey State Athletic Commission and renamed Bantamweight to Lightweight.

UFC Lightweight Championship History

Jans Pulver was the principal UFC Lightweight Champion(known as Bantamweight) at UFC 30 on 23 February 2001 in the wake of beating Caol Uno. Pulver stayed the Lightweight boss until 23 March 2002 when he was peeled off the title because of leaving UFC. UFC held a four-man competition to crown another hero. The last match of the competition between BJ Penn and Caol Uno finished in a draw. After this UFC put the division and the title on pause.

The following Lightweight Champion was delegated in 2006 when Sean Sherk crushed Kenny Florian for the title at UFC 64 on 14 October 2006. Sherk was peeled off the title in December 2007 after he was tried positive for anabolic steroids. BJ Penn turned into the following hero on 19 January 2008.

The title kept on being challenged until Conor McGregor went on a break in 2017. Tony Ferguson turned into the in-between time champion at UFC 216 because of McGregor’s latency. Both McGregor and Ferguson were peeled off the title in 2018. Khabib Nurmagomedov turned into the new Lightweight Champion on 7 April 2018 at UFC 223.

In the midst of agreement exchanges with Khabib, UFC held Dustin Poirier versus Max Halloway’s battle for the break title at UFC 236 which was won by Poirier. Khabib crushed Poirier in the undisputed Lightweight title battle at UFC 242. Tony Ferguson should challenge Khabib at UFC 249 yet Khabib couldn’t head out from Russia because of COVID-19 travel limitations. Ferguson confronted Justin Gaethje in another break title battle on 9 May 2020.

Gaethje won that session to turn into the break Lightweight Champion and later confronted Khabib at UFC 254 in October 2020. Khabib had the option to hold the title. Nonetheless, he reported his retirement from MMA and UFC cleared the title on 9 March 2021. Khabib is the longest-prevailing UFC Lightweight Champion with a title rule of 1077 days.

Charles Oliveira brought home the empty championship at UFC 262. He shielded it effectively against Dustin Poirier at UFC 269. At UFC 274, Oliviera missed the load by 0.5 lbs. He was deprived of the title and turned into the #1 competitor when he crushed Justin Gaethje at the occasion.

Current UFC Lightweight Champion

The UFC Lightweight Championship at present remaining parts empty. Charles Oliviera missed the load before his title guard against Justin Gaethje at UFC 274 weigh-in. He was deprived of the title before the battle, and the title was exclusively on the line for Gaethje during their match. Oliviera won the session and turned into the new #1 competitor for the title battle.

UFC Lightweight Division

The Lightweight Division in MMA contains different weight classes. The UFC Lightweight Division, specifically, limits contenders inside 146-155 lb (66-70 kg). The UFC Lightweight Division is between the Featherweight and Welterweight Division. The ongoing UFC Lightweight Division is additionally viewed as one of the most stacked UFC Weight Classes.

UFC Lightweight Champion – 2022

The UFC Lightweight title is right now empty, following Charles Oliveira being deprived of the title before UFC 274.

UFC Lightweight Rankings 2022

Preceding UFC 31 out of 2001, the Lightweight Title was known as the Bantamweight Title. The Strikeforce Lightweight Title was apparently bound together with the UFC Lightweight Title on April 20, 2013, when Benson Henderson crushed Gilbert Melendez.

The UFC Lightweight Title has been held by any semblance of Frankie Edgar, Anthony Pettis, Rafael Dos Anjos, and Eddie Alvarez over time. At UFC 205, Featherweight Champion Conor McGregor brought home the Lightweight Championship subsequent to overcoming Eddie Alvarez by means of TKO and turned into the primary warrior in UFC history to all the while hold two belts.

UFC Lightweight Rankings

At UFC 223, Khabib Nurmagomedov turned into the Lightweight Champion subsequent to overcoming Al Iaquinta through consistent choice. Khabib went onto safeguard the title against Conor McGregor, Dustin Poirier and Justin Gaethje and tied the record for the most title protections in the division alongside Benson Henderson.

He declared his retirement at UFC 254, however the title is yet to be emptied. On March eighteenth, 2021, Dana White affirmed that Khabib had authoritatively resigned and cleared the title.

Charles Oliveira crushed Michael Chandler at UFC 262 to turn into the UFC Lightweight Champion. Sadly, in spite of winning his battle against Dustin Gaethje at UFC 274, Charles Oliveira was deprived of his title subsequent to neglecting to make the load before the battle.

Subsequently the lightweight title right now stays empty.


Rank Fighter Record Win streak Result Last fight Next Fight
1 Charles Oliveira 33–8 (1 NC) 11 Win UFC 274 Justin Gaethje UFC 280 Islam Makhachev
2 Dustin Poirier 28–7 (1 NC) 0 Loss UFC 269 Charles Oliveira TBD
3 Justin Gaethje 23–4 0 Loss UFC 274 Charles Oliveira TBD
4 Islam Makhachev 22–1 10 Win UFC Fight Night 202 Bobby Green UFC 280 Charles Oliveira
5 Michael Chandler 23–7 1 Win Win UFC 274 Tony Ferguson TBD
6 Beneil Dariush 21–4–1 7 Win Win UFC 262 Tony Ferguson TBD
7 Rafael Fiziev 12–1 6 Win UFC on ESPN 39 Rafael dos Anjos TBD
8 Rafael dos Anjos 31–14 0 Loss UFC on ESPN 39 Rafael Fiziev TBD
9 Mateusz Gamrot 21–1 (1 NC) 4 Win UFC on ESPN 38 Arman Tsarukyan TBD
10 Arman Tsarukyan 18–3 0 Loss Loss UFC on ESPN 38 Mateusz Gamrot TBD


Leave a Comment